Citizen Identification System

Many years ago I made this presentation in on of the FOSS event – FreeDel at JNU, New Delhi in hope that some decision makers will be there and will be able to catch the idea.

Citizen Information/Identification System Presentation in PDF Format

My presentation was attended by huge audience of 6 people. 🙂


Now when GoI has announced and here here National Unique Identification Authority (NUAI) headed by illustrious Nandan Nilekani of Infosys, the Indian LUGs and FOSS community has woken from their slumber and started their paranoid discussion on the various mailing lists.

This clearly shows that FOSS community in India is as best reactive and reactionary rather then proactive and visionary.

In any case, I plan to reach Mr. Nandan Nilekani and present him with possible FOSS way of implementing this crucial reform in India.

If you happen to know people in right places in government please point them to this post and presentation. I am open to contribute to this project in whatever way I can as this project is quite dear to me.

4 thoughts on “Citizen Identification System

    1. Thanks Anant for your words of encouragement.

      I do hope to work on this. I have written to few people who can lead me to Mr. Nilekani.

      I will appreciate if you can also contribute in any way you can, including spreading the word.

      Like

      1. A security sensitive project such as National Identity card need open source software solutions to ensure data integrity and information security. In absence of an open source platform the very purpose the NIDC claims to serve will be questionable.People should use RTI to question the government about the transparency involved in the process.You are doing a great job Dinesh. Keep going…

        Like

  1. Pingback: Arun SAG (sagarun) 's status on Tuesday, 28-Jul-09 09:48:44 UTC - Identi.ca

Leave a comment