Ubuntu Desktop: just awesome

Some time back I downloaded the latest Ubuntu Linux desktop. I used UNetbootin to convert an ISO image to USB bootable key.

I booted with this newly created USB key and I was awestruck with new desktop interface.

I have about an year old Acer Aspire One netbook. the new Ubuntu desktop detected all my hardware without any tricks!

The in-built web cam just worked out of the box. so is the wired and wireless network. sound also worked without a hitch and sound quality is much better then my current Fedora 10. It even detected my iPhone and mounted iPhone filesystem at just one click.

Since my netbook is not equipped with Bluetooth, I have got a cheap USB Bluetooth device. connecting other bluetooth devices was breez.

Even though Ubuntu was running from USB 1.0 flash key, it was fast. all the applications required by an average user was right there on the main desktop.

It already packs latest version of Firefox and all other applications where nicely arranged and can be accessed with just two clicks. No complicated start menus and searching for applications.

Even the User Interface is very responsive and quick with opening of applications. This 700 MB OS packs enough punch and you can even continue to use the OS from USB key!

For an average Desktop users who needs mostly a web browser, office productivity tools and want to be productive immediately this is the platform of choice.

Next I will install this new cool OS on my netbook and give it a spin.

Leave a Reply

